• Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
Mike Tabeling - 1996


  • Sphere of Influence East Coast & Beyond

  • media presence

  • Competition record

  • Lifetime or special achievements

  • Contributions to East Coast Surfing Community

  • Induction to other recognized Surfing Halls of Fame

  • Eligibility age – 40 and above

  • Sponsorship

  • Career must have importance related to East Coast surfing

Jeff Crawford - 2002


A  Regional Nominating Committee made up of four surf experts from the North and four from the South will vet all Candidates and select the best 10 Candidates filling all slots in each Award Category. These ten, plus all surfers in the “In Perpetuity” list (meaning names previously nominated but not selected), will be the “Nominees.”

Regional NominAting Committee Members

New England - Sid Abruzzi

Mid-Atlantic - Mark Neustadter

Virginia/Outer Banks - Scott Busbey

N&S Carolina - David Nuckles

N. Florida, GA - Charlie Baldwin
Central Florida - Greg Loehr

South Florida - Hunter Joslin

West Florida - Pat Wilcox

Lisa Andersen - 2008

induction selection process

 A Selection Committee of 24 well known and highly regarded surfers, not on the Nominating Committee nor on the Board, will consist of ten from the North Region, ten from the South Region, and four At-Large, who are selected for their knowledge of East Coast surfing. The Board prefers that individuals on the Selection Committee are Members of the ECSHOF. The 24 members will each receive ten votes based on the final numbers to be inducted in each category.  The individuals with the greatest number of votes in each category will be the “Finalists.”

Corey Lopez - 2016

Board of Directors Ratification

The ten Finalists will be submitted to the ECSHOF Board of Directors for ratification. The Board may approve or deny any Finalist. A Finalist not ratified by the Board will be replaced by the Alternate in the same category. For 2020, there will be six categories in which ten individuals will be inducted in a formal ceremony to take place during the January 2020 Surf Expo in Orlando, Florida: inductees will be announced in September of 2019.